morgan county


Rule Line

Feb. 6, 1818, Cotaco County was formed from the lands acquired from the Cherokee Indians by the Treaty of Turkeytown. On June 14, 1821, Cotaco County name was changed to Morgan County. Morgan County was named after Daniel Morgan one of the great Generals in the Revolutionary War.

While still Cotaco County, Somerville was the county seat. Somerville remained the county seat even after the county became known as Morgan County. In 1891, the county seat was moved to the present day Decatur, Alabama. Decatur was named after Commodore Stephen Decatur, who held important naval commands during the War of 1812. He was credited with leading attacks against the Barbary pirates in the Mediterranean. He is best known for his toast, saying "Our country! In her intercourse with foreign nations may she always be in the right; but our country, right or wrong!"

When you go into Morgan County from the north, thru Limestone or Madison Counties, Al., you cross the beautiful Tennessee River. To the east of Decatur, is Flint Creek and the Wheeler National Wildlife Refuge. To the east of Morgan County is Marshall County, to the west is Lawrence County, and to the south is Cullman County. There are numerous creeks within Morgan County. As you enter the city of Decatur, you see the growth and economy flourishing. But with the 1990's visable, you also go back into time, with all the beautiful homes and buildings that have been within the city since as early as the 1833.

Return to Morgan County Welcome Page

Return to Master County Index

Kathy Hudson/Seminole, Ok.